
Tiger Trails
13 days. Bandhavgarh, Kanha, Pench, Tadoba
16jeep safaris
From $9,875$617 a safari

A $2,599 India tour and a tiger safari are different trips. One spends a single day in a tiger reserve. The other lives in three. Here is the difference, counted from each operator's own published itinerary.
A jeep safari is a three to four hour drive into the reserve in an open jeep, at dawn or late afternoon when tigers are on the move, with a forest guide and driver. Each one needs its own forest permit.
Return flights from Australia and New Zealand are free on six tours. Book by 28 October 2026.
RAP MP Tiger Circuit
12 days, 3 tiger reserves
Premium specialist tour
17 days, 2 tiger reserves
$2,599 fly-and-tour deal
8 days, 1 tiger reserve
Day by day, from each published itinerary. Tigers are seen on safaris at dawn and late afternoon, so the days that count are the ones spent inside a reserve.
RAP MP Tiger Circuit
10 of 11 nights in tiger reserves, 15 jeep safaris
$2,599 fly-and-tour deal
2 of 7 nights in a tiger reserve, 2 safaris
RAP: MP Tiger Circuit, 12 days. Typical deal: an 8-day flight-inclusive Golden Triangle and tigers tour sold in Australia, as published on 24 October 2026.
Pick a trip type. Each RAP tour is set beside the alternatives buyers most often weigh, with rival figures from each operator's own page on 24 October 2026, per person, twin share, in Australian dollars.
| RAP MP Tiger Circuit Escorted, small group | $2,599 fly-and-tour deal Golden Triangle with tigers | Premium specialist 17-day escorted tiger tour | Booking it yourself Lodges and permits direct | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jeep safaris | 15 | 2both on one day | 10 | As many as you can get permits for |
| Days | 12 | 8 | 17 | You plan them |
| Tiger reserves | 3: Bandhavgarh, Kanha, Panna | 1: Ranthambore | 2: Kanha, Bandhavgarh | You choose |
| Nights in tiger country | 10 of 11 | 2 of 7 | 7 of 16 | You choose |
| Group size | 5 to 11 guests | Up to 20 | Not stated | Just you |
| Meals | Breakfast, lunch and dinner every day | 7 breakfasts, 4 lunches, 2 dinners | Breakfast, lunch and dinner from day 2 | Depends on each lodge |
| Park permits | Booked for you, 120 days ahead | Admissions as specified | Not stated | You queue online at 11 am India time, 120 days out |
| Camera fees | Included | Not mentioned | Not stated | Paid at the gate |
| Flights within India | Included | Travel by coach | One flight and a train | You book them |
| Flights from Australia | Free on RAPS Flight bookings | Included; airline not named | Not included | You book them |
| Who you deal with | A Sydney team, in Australian dollars | An Australian travel seller | An Australian operator | Overseas businesses, in USD or rupees |
| Price per person | $12,386 | from $2,599one date only; most dates $2,799 to $3,099 | $16,500 | Paid lodge by lodge |
| Price per jeep safari | $826 | $1,300 | $1,650 | Varies |
The flight deal's price includes international flights; ours includes them only on RAPS Flight bookings. Its safari count is read from its day-by-day itinerary, which does not say whether they are by jeep or by larger open bus. Prices change: check each operator's page before you compare.
| RAP Snow Leopards Escorted, small group | Same route, US operator 15 days, Hemis and Hanle | Premium US expedition About 10 days, private lodge | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Days | 14 | 15 | About 10 |
| Where | Hemis National Park (Rumbak) and Hanle | Hanle and Hemis (Rumbak) | A private snow leopard lodge in Ladakh |
| Hanle's high plateau, home of the Pallas's cat | Yes, 3 nights | Yes | Not listed |
| Time tracking snow leopards | 5 full days in Hemis, 2 at Hanle | Not stated | Not stated |
| Where you stay | Heated homestays, guesthouse and lodge | Hotel and lodge | Private lodge with heated floors |
| Meals | Breakfast, lunch and dinner | As listed in the itinerary | Day 1 dinner to final-day lunch |
| Porters, medical kit and oxygen | Included | Not stated | Not stated |
| Flights within India | Delhi to Leh included | Delhi to Leh included | Extra |
| Price per person | $10,880 | about $12,446USD 8,740 | about $15,657from USD 10,995 |
| Price per day | $777 | $830 | $1,566 |
Rival figures from each operator's own page on 24 October 2026, converted to Australian dollars at 23 October 2026 rates.
| RAP 3 Big Cats Escorted | UK specialist big cat tour 22 days, group of 5 to 6 | US big cat tour 14 days, up to 14 | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Days | 22 | 22 | 14 |
| Cats you look for | Snow leopard, tiger, leopard and Asiatic lion | Snow leopard, tiger and Asiatic lion | Tiger, leopard and Asiatic lion |
| Where | Hemis, Ranthambore, Jawai, Gir | Ulley, Kabini, Gir | Gir, Kanha, Narlai |
| Meals | All meals in the reserves, breakfast in cities | All meals except day 2 | Mostly breakfast |
| Flights within India | Included | Not stated | Extra, from USD 615 |
| Price per person | from $16,469 | about $17,124GBP 8,995, land only | about $13,720 to $18,306USD 9,635 to 12,855 |
| Price per day | from $749 | $778 | $980 to $1,308 |
Rival figures from each operator's own page on 24 October 2026, converted to Australian dollars at 23 October 2026 rates. Only RAP's tour adds the leopards of Jawai to the snow leopard, tiger and lion.
| RAP Desert Dunes & Lions Escorted | UK naturalist tour 13 days, Gujarat | US luxury tour 14 days, western India | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Days | 16 | 13 | 14 |
| Where | Gir, Velavadar, Rann of Kutch, Jawai, Desert National Park | Velavadar, Gir, Kachchh, Little Rann | Gir, Velavadar, Little Rann, Bera, Jodhpur |
| Safaris | 22across 5 reserves | Twice daily at Gir; total not stated | Morning and afternoon; total not stated |
| Leopards | Yes, at Jawai | No | Yes, at Bera |
| Meals | All meals in the reserves | All meals | All meals, plus wine and beer outside Gujarat |
| Price per person | from $8,451 | about $7,605GBP 3,995, land only | about $13,948USD 9,795 |
| Price per day | from $528 | $585 | $996 |
Rival figures from each operator's own page on 24 October 2026, converted to Australian dollars at 23 October 2026 rates.

Tour price divided by the jeep safaris it includes. The cheapest tour is rarely the cheapest way to see a tiger.
From operators' own pages on 24 October 2026. The 8-day and 14-day tours include flights from Australia; the specialist tours do not. Central India Grand Tiger Safari is shown at its group price.
From the moment you land in Delhi to the flight home from Gwalior, everything inside the park gates is paid for. MP Tiger Circuit, per person, twin share.

Not included
International flights (free on RAPS Flight bookings), your Indian visa, travel insurance, and a gratuity for your main guide.

Every jeep safari needs a forest permit. In the best zones they are few, released months ahead, and gone within minutes.
Source: Madhya Pradesh Forest Department online booking portal, viewed 24 October 2026.
A team you can call
Rakesh or Vikas, our Sydney-based safari specialists, call you back within one business day.
Australian dollars, Australian law
You pay an Australian company in AUD. The ACCC warns that refunds from overseas businesses can be hard to get.
Flights handled properly
Your flights are arranged by Travel Crafters, our travel partner, IATA accredited and an ATIA member.
Every RAP tour, with the number that matters most for what you're going to see. Prices per person, twin share.

13 days. Bandhavgarh, Kanha, Pench, Tadoba
16jeep safaris
From $9,875$617 a safari

12 days. Bandhavgarh, Kanha, Panna
15jeep safaris
From $12,386$826 a safari

21 days. Tadoba, Pench, Kanha, Bandhavgarh, Panna, Satpura
33jeep safaris in 6 reserves
From $12,917from $391 a safari

8 days. Pench, Tadoba
9jeep safaris
From $7,993$888 a safari

8 days. Panna, Bandhavgarh, Khajuraho temples
8jeep safaris
From $7,350$919 a safari

Snow leopards
14 days. Hemis National Park and Hanle, Ladakh
7full days tracking, 5 in Hemis and 2 at Hanle
From $10,880Heated homestays and lodge, all meals

Big cats
22 days. Hemis, Ranthambore, Jawai, Gir
4big cats: snow leopard, tiger, leopard, Asiatic lion
From $16,469Domestic flights included

Lions and desert
16 days. Gir, Velavadar, Rann of Kutch, Jawai, Desert National Park
22safaris in 5 reserves
From $8,451Domestic flights included

Wildlife and heritage
17 days. Ranthambore, Jawai, Agra, Jaipur, Udaipur, Jodhpur
7nights in Ranthambore and Jawai
From $9,143Taj Mahal and Amber Fort entries included

Rhinos and birds
7 days. Manas, Pobitora and Kaziranga, Assam
7safaris in 3 reserves
From $7,345All meals included
It can be a good Golden Triangle holiday. It isn't a tiger safari: its itinerary has two safaris, both on one day, in one reserve. If tigers are why you're going, count the safaris before you compare the prices.
Yes. Some large-group adventure tours and India-based operators charge less per safari, and you can book lodges and permits yourself. You would then queue for each permit 120 days out, pay in US dollars or rupees, and deal with overseas businesses if something goes wrong. That is the work, and the risk, our price takes on.
No one can promise that, and you should be wary of anyone who does. More safaris, across more reserves, at the right time of year, is how you give yourself the best chance.
On MP Tiger Circuit: Tathastu at Bandhavgarh, Tathastu or Jungle Camp at Kanha, and Tendu Leaf at Panna, with a night in Delhi on arrival. Each tour page names its lodges.

Hold your place for $99, fully refundable for 3 days, and your return flights are on us.
Comparisons use each operator's own published page as viewed on 24 October 2026: an 8-day flight-inclusive Golden Triangle and tigers tour, a 17-day escorted specialist tiger tour, a 14-day flight-inclusive wildlife tour, an 11-day luxury specialist tour, and snow leopard, big cat and western India tours from UK and US operators. Prices are per person, twin share, in AUD, converted where needed at 23 October 2026 rates, and change over time.
