Two jeep safaris, or fifteen. That is what the price buys.

A $2,599 India tour and a tiger safari are different trips. One spends a single day in a tiger reserve. The other lives in three. Here is the difference, counted from each operator's own published itinerary.

A jeep safari is a three to four hour drive into the reserve in an open jeep, at dawn or late afternoon when tigers are on the move, with a forest guide and driver. Each one needs its own forest permit.

Return flights from Australia and New Zealand are free on six tours. Book by 28 October 2026.

Our MP Tiger Circuit against the two most common alternatives. Each pawprint is one jeep safari included in the price.

RAP MP Tiger Circuit

12 days, 3 tiger reserves

Premium specialist tour

17 days, 2 tiger reserves

$2,599 fly-and-tour deal

8 days, 1 tiger reserve

Where your days go, on MP Tiger Circuit

Day by day, from each published itinerary. Tigers are seen on safaris at dawn and late afternoon, so the days that count are the ones spent inside a reserve.

  • In a tiger reserve
  • Travel day
  • City and sightseeing
  • One jeep safari

RAP MP Tiger Circuit

10 of 11 nights in tiger reserves, 15 jeep safaris

  1. Day 1 Arrive Delhi
  2. Day 2 Fly to Jabalpur, drive to Bandhav­garh
  3. Day 3 Bandhav­garh
  4. Day 4 Bandhav­garh
  5. Day 5 Bandhav­garh to Kanha
  6. Day 6 Kanha
  7. Day 7 Kanha
  8. Day 8 Kanha to Panna
  9. Day 9 Panna
  10. Day 10 Panna
  11. Day 11 Panna and Kha­ju­raho
  12. Day 12 Gwalior to Delhi, home

$2,599 fly-and-tour deal

2 of 7 nights in a tiger reserve, 2 safaris

  1. Day 1 Arrive Delhi
  2. Day 2 Delhi sights
  3. Day 3 Agra, Taj Mahal
  4. Day 4 Fateh­pur Sikri, drive to Ran­tham­bore
  5. Day 5 Ran­tham­bore
  6. Day 6 Drive to Jaipur
  7. Day 7 Jaipur, Amber Fort
  8. Day 8 Fly home

RAP: MP Tiger Circuit, 12 days. Typical deal: an 8-day flight-inclusive Golden Triangle and tigers tour sold in Australia, as published on 24 October 2026.

Head to head

Pick a trip type. Each RAP tour is set beside the alternatives buyers most often weigh, with rival figures from each operator's own page on 24 October 2026, per person, twin share, in Australian dollars.

A tiger in central India

MP Tiger Circuit, head to head

RAP MP Tiger Circuit compared with a typical flight deal, a premium specialist tour and booking direct in India
RAP MP Tiger Circuit Escorted, small group $2,599 fly-and-tour deal Golden Triangle with tigers Premium specialist 17-day escorted tiger tour Booking it yourself Lodges and permits direct
Jeep safaris152both on one day10As many as you can get permits for
Days12817You plan them
Tiger reserves3: Bandhavgarh, Kanha, Panna1: Ranthambore2: Kanha, BandhavgarhYou choose
Nights in tiger country10 of 112 of 77 of 16You choose
Group size5 to 11 guestsUp to 20Not statedJust you
MealsBreakfast, lunch and dinner every day7 breakfasts, 4 lunches, 2 dinnersBreakfast, lunch and dinner from day 2Depends on each lodge
Park permitsBooked for you, 120 days aheadAdmissions as specifiedNot statedYou queue online at 11 am India time, 120 days out
Camera feesIncludedNot mentionedNot statedPaid at the gate
Flights within IndiaIncludedTravel by coachOne flight and a trainYou book them
Flights from AustraliaFree on RAPS Flight bookingsIncluded; airline not namedNot includedYou book them
Who you deal withA Sydney team, in Australian dollarsAn Australian travel sellerAn Australian operatorOverseas businesses, in USD or rupees
Price per person$12,386from $2,599one date only; most dates $2,799 to $3,099$16,500Paid lodge by lodge
Price per jeep safari$826$1,300$1,650Varies

The flight deal's price includes international flights; ours includes them only on RAPS Flight bookings. Its safari count is read from its day-by-day itinerary, which does not say whether they are by jeep or by larger open bus. Prices change: check each operator's page before you compare.

Tigers at a waterhole in central India

What one jeep safari really costs

Tour price divided by the jeep safaris it includes. The cheapest tour is rarely the cheapest way to see a tiger.

  • RAP Central India Grand Tiger Safari: 33 safaris, 21 days from $391
  • RAP Tiger Trails: 16 safaris, 13 days $617
  • RAP MP Tiger Circuit: 15 safaris, 12 days $826
  • 14-day flight-inclusive wildlife tour: 7 safaris $1,184
  • 8-day $2,599 fly-and-tour deal: 2 safaris $1,300
  • 17-day premium specialist tour: 10 safaris $1,650
  • 11-day luxury specialist tour: about 8 safaris $2,222

From operators' own pages on 24 October 2026. The 8-day and 14-day tours include flights from Australia; the specialist tours do not. Central India Grand Tiger Safari is shown at its group price.

What your $12,386 covers

From the moment you land in Delhi to the flight home from Gwalior, everything inside the park gates is paid for. MP Tiger Circuit, per person, twin share.

Tigers in Panna, one of the three reserves on MP Tiger Circuit

Not included

International flights (free on RAPS Flight bookings), your Indian visa, travel insurance, and a gratuity for your main guide.

  • 15 jeep safarisFive each in Bandhavgarh, Kanha and Panna, with a guide and driver.
  • Forest permits and camera feesBooked 120 days ahead and paid, for every safari.
  • Breakfast, lunch and dinnerEvery day, with morning and evening tea and a packed breakfast in the park.
  • 11 nights of accommodationDelhi, then lodges at Bandhavgarh, Kanha and Panna.
  • Flights within IndiaDelhi to Jabalpur, and Gwalior back to Delhi, with 15 kg checked bags.
  • Every road transferAir-conditioned vehicles between airports, lodges and reserves.
  • Khajuraho templesA visit to the UNESCO-listed temple group on day 11.
  • Photography sessionsImage reviews and technique sessions between safaris.

The part no brochure shows you: permits

Every jeep safari needs a forest permit. In the best zones they are few, released months ahead, and gone within minutes.

  1. 120 daysbefore your safari, permits open on Madhya Pradesh's forest portal, at 11 am India time.
  2. 19 jeepsis all Bandhavgarh's Tala zone releases online for each morning safari.
  3. Our jobWe book your permits the day they open, so you aren't racing other bookers on a government website four months out.
  4. Day oneYou climb into the jeep.

Source: Madhya Pradesh Forest Department online booking portal, viewed 24 October 2026.

Booked in Sydney, run in the jungle

A team you can call

Rakesh or Vikas, our Sydney-based safari specialists, call you back within one business day.

Australian dollars, Australian law

You pay an Australian company in AUD. The ACCC warns that refunds from overseas businesses can be hard to get.

Flights handled properly

Your flights are arranged by Travel Crafters, our travel partner, IATA accredited and an ATIA member.

All ten tours, counted

Every RAP tour, with the number that matters most for what you're going to see. Prices per person, twin share.

Tiger safaris

Central India Grand Tiger Safari

21 days. Tadoba, Pench, Kanha, Bandhavgarh, Panna, Satpura

33jeep safaris in 6 reserves

From $12,917from $391 a safari

Beyond the tiger

Snow leopards

Snow Leopards (Grey Ghost)

14 days. Hemis National Park and Hanle, Ladakh

7full days tracking, 5 in Hemis and 2 at Hanle

From $10,880Heated homestays and lodge, all meals

Big cats

3 Big Cats

22 days. Hemis, Ranthambore, Jawai, Gir

4big cats: snow leopard, tiger, leopard, Asiatic lion

From $16,469Domestic flights included

Lions and desert

Desert Dunes & Lions Expedition

16 days. Gir, Velavadar, Rann of Kutch, Jawai, Desert National Park

22safaris in 5 reserves

From $8,451Domestic flights included

Wildlife and heritage

Royal Rajasthan Safari

17 days. Ranthambore, Jawai, Agra, Jaipur, Udaipur, Jodhpur

7nights in Ranthambore and Jawai

From $9,143Taj Mahal and Amber Fort entries included

Straight answers on price

Why not just book the $2,599 tour?

It can be a good Golden Triangle holiday. It isn't a tiger safari: its itinerary has two safaris, both on one day, in one reserve. If tigers are why you're going, count the safaris before you compare the prices.

Could I pay less?

Yes. Some large-group adventure tours and India-based operators charge less per safari, and you can book lodges and permits yourself. You would then queue for each permit 120 days out, pay in US dollars or rupees, and deal with overseas businesses if something goes wrong. That is the work, and the risk, our price takes on.

Will I see a tiger?

No one can promise that, and you should be wary of anyone who does. More safaris, across more reserves, at the right time of year, is how you give yourself the best chance.

Where do you stay?

On MP Tiger Circuit: Tathastu at Bandhavgarh, Tathastu or Jungle Camp at Kanha, and Tendu Leaf at Panna, with a night in Delhi on arrival. Each tour page names its lodges.

Fifteen chances. Three reserves. One booking.

Hold your place for $99, fully refundable for 3 days, and your return flights are on us.

Comparisons use each operator's own published page as viewed on 24 October 2026: an 8-day flight-inclusive Golden Triangle and tigers tour, a 17-day escorted specialist tiger tour, a 14-day flight-inclusive wildlife tour, an 11-day luxury specialist tour, and snow leopard, big cat and western India tours from UK and US operators. Prices are per person, twin share, in AUD, converted where needed at 23 October 2026 rates, and change over time.